• Home
  • »
  • Borough Government

Borough Government

Leonia is incorporated under the Borough form of government; the Governing Body consists of the Mayor and six Council members, all of whom are elected at-large.  The Mayor is the Chief Executive and Presiding Officer.  The Council consists of the Council President (who presides in the Mayor's absence), and five additional Council members, who together serve as the legislative body of the Borough.  Council members serve for three years; the Mayor's term is four years.