

# **BOROUGH OF LEONIA**

# Leonia Planning Board Reorganization MINUTES

January 24, 2024 6:45 PM LEONIA SENIOR CENTER

The Borough of Leonia Planning Board held its reorganization meeting on JANUARY 24, 2024 at 6:45 p.m. located at 305 Beechwood Place, Leonia, NJ.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mayor William Ziegler, Chairman Michael DeGidio, Vice Chair Ira Gold, Councilman

Christoph Hesterbrink, Patrick Botten, Timothy Ford, William Russell, Sean Thompson,

Haeseok Ko, Damee Choi.

MEMBER(S) ABSENT: Ron Wolf.

ALSO PRESENT: Secretary – Michael Greco, Attorney – Dan Steinhagen, Engineer – Drew DiSessa

Meeting was called to order at 6:45 PM.

# **FLAG SALUTE**

# **ROLL CALL**

### **OATH'S OF OFFICE**

Mr. Steinhagen swore into office Mayor Bill Ziegler as the Class I member of the Leonia Planning Board.

Mayor Ziegler swore in Mr. William Russell as the Class II member of the Leonia Planning Board.

Mayor Ziegler swore in Councilman Christoph Hesterbrink as the Class III member of the Leonia Planning Board.

Mayor Ziegler swore in Mr. Michael DeGidio and Mr. Ira Gold as Class IV members of the Leonia Planning Board.

Mayor Ziegler swore in Ms. Damee Choi as the Alternate II member of the Leonia Planning Board.

# **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Motion to nominate Michael DeGidio as the Chair of the Leonia Planning Board for the year of 2024, made by: Mayor Ziegler and Seconded by Vice Chair Gold:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Chair DeGidio: Abstain Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Yes Vice Chair Gold: Yes Mr. Russell: Yes Mr. Ford: Yes Mr. Botten: Yes Mr. Thompson: Yes Mr. Wolf:

Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

Motion to nominate Ira Gold as the Vice Chair of the Leonia Planning Board for the year of 2024, made by: Mayor Ziegler and Seconded by Mr. Botten:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Yes Chair DeGidio: Yes Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Vice Chair Gold: Abstain Mr. Russell: Mr. Ford: Yes Yes Mr. Botten: Mr. Thompson: Mr. Wolf: Yes Yes Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

### **RESOLUTIONS**

Motion to approve the Resolution to appoint Daniel Steinhagen of Beattie Padovano as the Planning Board Attorney for the year of 2024, made by: Mr. Botten and Seconded by Vice Chair Gold:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Yes Chair DeGidio: Yes Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Vice Chair Gold: Mr. Russell: Mr. Ford: Yes Yes Yes Mr. Botten: Yes Mr. Thompson: Yes Mr. Wolf: Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

Motion to approve the Resolution to appoint Drew DiSessa of Pennoni as the Planning Board Engineer for the year of 2024, made by: Mr. Botten and Seconded by Vice Chair Gold:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Chair DeGidio: Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Yes Yes Vice Chair Gold: Mr. Russell: Mr. Ford: Yes Yes Yes Mr. Wolf: Mr. Botten: Yes Mr. Thompson: Yes Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

Motion to approve the Resolution to appoint Sanyogita Chavan of H2M as the Planning Board Planner for the year of 2024, made by: Mr. Botten and Seconded by Vice Chair Gold:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Chair DeGidio: Mayor Ziegler: Yes Yes Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Vice Chair Gold: Mr. Russell: Mr. Ford: Yes Yes Yes Mr. Botten: Yes Mr. Thompson: Mr. Wolf: Yes Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

Motion to approve the Resolution to appoint John Corak of Stonefield as the Planning Board Traffic Engineer for the year of 2024, made by: Chair DeGidio and Seconded by Mr. Botten:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Chair DeGidio: Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Yes Yes Vice Chair Gold: Yes Mr. Russell: Yes Mr. Ford: Yes Mr. Botten: Yes Mr. Thompson: Yes Mr. Wolf: Mr. Ko: Ms. Choi: Yes Yes

Motion to appoint Michael Greco as the Planning Board Secretary for the year of 2024, made by: Chair DeGidio and Seconded by Vice Chair Gold:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Yes Chair DeGidio: Yes Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes

Vice Chair Gold:YesMr. Russell:YesMr. Ford:YesMr. Botten:YesMr. Thompson:YesMr. Wolf:-

Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

Chair DeGidio took a moment to thank the Planning Board's professionals for working with the Borough and capping their rate increases at 5% for the calendar year.

# **DESIGNATION OF THE OFFICIAL NEWSPAPERS**

Motion to designate the Bergen Record and the Star Ledger as the official newspapers of the Leonia Planning Board for the year of 2024, made by: Chair DeGidio and Seconded by Mayor Ziegler:

On roll call, the vote was recorded as follows

Mayor Ziegler: Yes Chair DeGidio: Yes Councilman Hesterbrink: Yes Vice Chair Gold: Mr. Ford: Yes Mr. Russell: Yes Yes Mr. Botten: Mr. Wolf: Mr. Thompson: Yes Yes

Mr. Ko: Yes Ms. Choi: Yes

# **NEW/OLD BUSINESS**

Chair DeGidio spoke briefly on the year of 2023 giving an end of year report for the Planning Board.

# **PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD – CORRESPONDENCE**

No public present wishing to speak.

# **CLOSED SESSION**

# **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business presented, a motion to adjourn the meeting was made by: Vice Chair Gold and seconded by Mr. Botten.

All in Favor - Motion Passed

The meeting was adjourned at 7:01 PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Michael Greco

**Planning Board Secretary**